BPP Convention 2018

When the alarm clock rings at 1:00 a.m., you know a small or big adventure is waiting for you. At that time, my dearest work colleague Luci and I had no idea how exciting our trip to the Association of German Professional Portrait Photographers in Cologne was going to be.
Back to top.
My photo was with BPP contest in the area of wedding photography, we made it into the top 20 and, curious as we were, we naturally wanted to experience the placement live. So maybe a little spontaneously we decided to go to Cologne. Our mini road trip in Munich started at half past two with the night train at the main train station. After a few hours we were finally allowed to sniff the Cologne air.

The first stop

Of course the cathedral! Some selfies for that Photogenics team later our exploration tour continued, we wanted to make full use of the time until the announcement. So we strolled through Cologne, which was still new to both of us. We tried to count the love locks on the Hohenzollern Bridge, lit candles in Cologne Cathedral, celebrated with street musicians and of course took countless photos. The hours just passed us by and slowly the nervousness grew. We made our way to the hotel where the annual meeting is taking place.

The announcement of places 4 – 10

Really a thriller for me. According to my colleague, with every name that was read that wasn't mine, my face got a little whiter. When I didn't mention my name at number four either, I really felt different. This meant that I was either placed between 10th and 20th place or, for me completely out of the question, in one of the first three places. So now we had to wait. To the gala evening and the second part of the award ceremony.

Now it's getting serious

The only problem, however, was our bus, which was supposed to bring us back to Munich at 00:15. Can we do it all? Do we still have enough time to see the awards ceremony? When the awards ceremony in the wedding category finally began, we could hardly keep our seats. When my name was not mentioned on the third and second place, it was clear to me that I would only find out about my placement the next day. And then something happened that I never expected, my picture was shown, my name was mentioned and I was allowed to accept the Gold Award in the Wedding category. With a huge package from Profoto, a certificate, the gold trophy and a gigantic smile, I stumbled off the stage and was able to hug my companions jubilantly. And so ends our little or big adventure from the BPP.
Once again, a huge thank you to my Photogenika family, who had our backs, the kind congratulations, the warm welcome back in Munich and of course to my models, who really deserved the title "The most beautiful smile"!
Yours, Nikki
PS: We loaded the bus home heavily, a little out of breath but very happy to get it!
Nicole Lindner BPP Award Photogenics

Nicole Lindner Cologne Collage Photogenika

Nicole Lindner BPP Most Beautiful Smile Photogenics

Wenn der Wecker um 01:00 Nachts klingelt, dann weißt Du, ein kleines oder auch großes Abenteuer wartet auf Dich. Meine liebste Arbeitskollegin Luci und ich wussten zu dieser Zeit noch nicht, wie spannend und aufregend unser Ausflug zum Bund der deutschen Profi-Portrait Fotografen nach Köln wirklich werden sollte.
Zurück zum Anfang.

Mein Foto war beim BPP-Contest im Bereich Hochzeitsfotografie unter die Top 20 gekommen und neugierig, wie wir waren, wollten wir die Platzierung natürlich live miterleben. Vielleicht ein wenig spontan entschieden wir uns also, nach Köln zu fahren. Mit dem Nachtzug um halb 3 Uhr begann unser Mini-Roadtrip in München am Hauptbahnhof. Nach einigen Stunden durften wir dann endlich die Kölner-Luft schnuppern.

Die erste Station

Natürlich der Dom! Einige Selfies für das Team von Photogenika später ging unsere Erkundungstour weiter, wir wollten die Zeit bis zur Verkündung voll ausnutzen. Also schlenderten wir durch das, für uns beide noch neue, Köln. Wir versuchten die Liebesschlösser an der Hohenzollernbrücke zu zählen, Zündeten Kerzen im Kölner Dom an, feierten Straßenmusikanten und machten natürlich unzählige Fotos. Die Stunden zogen nur so an uns vorbei und langsam wuchs auch die Nervosität. Wir machten uns auf dem Weg zu dem Hotel in dem das Jahrestreffen stattfindet.

Die Verkündung der Plätze 4 – 10

Für mich wirklich ein Krimi. Mit jedem Namen der verlesen wurde, und nicht meiner war wurde ich laut meiner Kollegin ein bisschen weißer im Gesicht. Als auch bei Nummer vier mein Name nicht fiel wurde mir wirklich anders. Dies bedeutete nämlich entweder, ich bin zwischen dem 10. und 20. Platz oder, für mich vollkommen ausgeschlossen, auf einem der ersten drei Plätze platziert. Also hieß es für uns nun: Warten. Auf den Galaabend und den zweiten Teil der Preisverleihung.

Jetzt wird’s ernst

Das einzige Problem war jedoch unser Bus, der uns schon um 00:15 zurück nach München bringen sollte. Würden wir das alles schaffen? Haben wir noch genug Zeit, um die Verleihung mit ansehen zu können? Als die Preisverleihung in der Kategorie Hochzeit endlich begann, konnten wir uns schon kaum mehr auf unseren Stühlen halten. Als auf dem dritten und zweiten Platz nicht mein Name genannt wurde, war für mich klar, dass ich meine Platzierung erst am nächsten Tag erfahren würde. Und dann passierte das, womit ich niemals gerechnet hätte, mein Bild wurde eingeblendet, mein Name genannt und ich durfte den Gold Award in der Kategorie Wedding entgegennehmen. Mit einem riesen Paket von Profoto, einer Urkunde, dem Goldpokal und einem gigantischen Lächeln stolperte ich von der Bühne und durfte meine Begleitung jubelnd in die Arme schließen. Und so endet unser kleines oder dann doch großes Abenteuer vom BPP.

Nochmal ein riesen Dankeschön an meine Photogenika-Familie die uns den Rücken freigehalten haben, die lieben Glückwünsche, den herzlichen Empfang zurück in München und natürlich an meine Models die sich den Titel „Das schönste Lächeln“ wirklich verdient haben!

Eure Nikki

PS: Den Bus nachhause haben wir schwer beladen, etwas außer Atem aber sehr glücklich noch bekommen!

 

Nicole Lindner BPP Award Photogenika

Nicole Lindner Köln Kollage Photogenika

Nicole Lindner BPP schoenstes Laecheln Photogenika